What is this blog…

… And why am I wasting time with it?

As a MSc student in Information Systems and Computer Engineering by Instituto Superior Técnico, I am currently working on my Master’s thesis on the same area. This blog’s mission is precisely to track and log my progress with my work for the following year.

The thesis work itself, can be described perfectly by the following paragraph, which I so appreciatively copied from the research position proposal, as written by my research mentor, Alfredo Ferreira, PhD and Assistant Professor at Instituto Superior Técnico:

“Develop a 3D object benchmark, captured with a low cost depth sensing camera, such as Microsoft Kinect. This benchmark will be submitted as a new track to the Shape Retrieval Contest (SHREC) 2013. Assuming this track will be accepted by contest organizers, this workplan might be extended to also include the processing and analysis of the contest results. This work has a potential of great visibility among the scientific community.”

So that’s it. I’ll be posting news as fast as required and my work ethics permit. Stay tuned!

About joaoprmachado

BSc in Information Systems and Computer Engineering by Instituto Superior Técnico. (2011)

Leave a Reply

